Xamarin Forms

I have been writing code since the early 80’s. Things have moved on for sure and continue to evolve. Probably the biggest change since then, and there have been many, has been the transition to mobile devices in the form of smart phones and tablets. You already know this of course, we all do, it’s all around us. As software developers we ignore this at our peril. I myself have struggled with this phenomenon. Over the last few years I have tried embracing Objective-C and the likes but never really got very far.

Back in 2008 I did embrace one technology and that was WPF. Since then I have pretty much been working in the investment bank sector developing WPF UI solutions for various investment banks. This has proved a great testing ground for this technology and I have learnt a lot along the way.

It generally takes enterprise a good few years to ‘catch up’ with things. Many are still running Windows XP. But, they are catching up and without doubt the biggest technology enterprises will be addressing in the future is Mobile technologies. One of the biggest stumbling blocks is the need to write software for each and every platform. What enterprise or anyone wants is to write once and deploy to all platforms. This is where Xamarin comes in. What is really exciting however is Xamarin’s new offering Xamarin Forms. As a WPF developer I can now harness my existing skillset to write cross-platform mobile applications.

I will be sharing with you my adventures in Xamarin Forms in this blog as I learn, discover and hopefully write some interesting applications. I will also be applying all the things I have learnt as a software developer over the years and share with you some best practices which I will try to use with Xamarin Forms. I hope you enjoy following me on my journey.

One thought on “Xamarin Forms

  1. As a fellow WPF developer in the investment banking sector and also looking at Xamarin (why oh why is it so expensive, especially whn the Visual Studio tooling is still in its infancy?), I share your frustrations at the lack of good examples. I’m looking forward to following your journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

